Edward Zwick Wins Academy Board of Governors Election Run-Off

Beverly Hills, CA (RPRN) 8/4/2009—The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that Edward Zwick has prevailed in the run-off for the open Directors Branch seat on the 2009-2010 Board of Governors; this will be his first term on the Board. Zwick will join Martha Coolidge and Curtis Hanson as the third governor representing the branch.

Earlier this month run-off ballots were mailed to Directors Branch members when Zwick and Gil Cates tied for the seat. Ballots were due back yesterday (July 29). This was the first time in Academy history that there was a tie in the balloting.

The 2009-2010 Academy Board of Governors are: Annette Bening, Tom Hanks and Henry Winkler, Actors Branch; James D. Bissell, Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeffrey Kurland, Art Directors Branch; Caleb Deschanel, Owen Roizman and Vilmos Zsigmond, Cinematographers; Martha Coolidge, Curtis Hanson and Zwick Directors; Rob Epstein, Lynne Littman and Richard Pearce, Documentary; Jim Gianopulos, Robert Rehme and Tom Sherak, Executives; Dede Allen, Donn Cambern and Mark Goldblatt, Film Editors; Leonard Engelman, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists; Bruce Broughton, Charles Fox and Arthur Hamilton, Music; Mark Johnson, Kathleen Kennedy and Hawk Koch, Producers; Robert G. Friedman, Sid Ganis and Marvin Levy, Public Relations; Carl Bell, Bill Kroyer and John Lasseter, Short Films and Feature Animation; Curt Behlmer, Don Hall and Kevin O’Connell, Sound; Craig Barron, Richard Edlund and Bill Taylor, Visual Effects; and James L. Brooks, Frank Pierson and Phil Robinson, Writers.


Teni Melidonian
(310) 247-3090

Share This Post

More To Explore