The New York Dragons Welcome Timothy M. Kelly as Chief Operating Officer

the NEW YORK DRAGONSNEW YORK, (RUSHPRNEWS) July 14, 2008 — The New York Dragons announced today that a new Chief Operating Officer, Tim Kelly, has been named. Mr. Kelly was formerly the Chief Operating Officer for The New York Titans who play at Madison Square Garden.

“We are extremely pleased to welcome Tim to the organization,” said Steven Silva, theLong Island native who serves as the managing member of the investment group that recently announced its purchase of the Dragons. “Tim brings just the right combination of experience we need to grow the franchise, create a better fan experience, and win championships.”

Mr. Kelly, who was general manager for the Long Island Lizards prior to joining the Titans, will oversee the business aspects of team operations, including building and branding the franchise, and enhancing community and fan involvement with the team. He will report directly to the ownership group.

“As aLong Island native and a Dragons fan, it is truly an honor for me to work with Steve and his team to be a part of the next chapter for the Dragons,” said Mr. Kelly. “I look forward to working with Coach Weylan Harding and players like Aaron Garcia, Billy Parker and Henry Taylor to deliver a first class experience to the community and the fans.”

The Dragons recently announced that the team will be purchased by aNew York-based investment group from current owner Charles Wang pending approval by the Arena Football League Board of Directors. Financial details of the pending acquisition were not disclosed.

The team, which started out as theDes Moines, Iowa Barnstormers, was acquired in 2000 by a group led by Mr. Wang and relocated toNew York, where they began playing as the New York Dragons at the Nassau Coliseum in 2001. The team will continue to play at the Nassau Coliseum under the new ownership. The New York Dragons have won three Eastern Division Championships. They have played in the AFL’s National Conference playoffs in 2001, 2003, 2005, 2006 and 2008.

SOURCE The New York Dragons/

Share This Post

More To Explore