Academy Elections Produce 14 Governors, One Runoff

Beverly Hills, CA (RPRN) 7/09/2009–The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced today that the annual branch elections of governors of the organization have returned nine incumbents to the board as well as four new governors and one who returns to the Academy’s governing body after a year off.

In addition, the balloting in the Academy’s Directors Branch produced a tie between candidates Gil Cates and Edward Zwick, necessitating a second polling of that branch. Academy Executive Director Bruce Davis indicated that as far as could be ascertained it was the first time that a runoff had ever been necessary in the voting for Academy Governors. Those ballots will be mailed to Directors Branch members this week and will be due back by July 29.

Those elected to the Academy Board for the first time are: James D. Bissell, Art Directors Branch; Lynne Littman, Documentary; Robert G. Friedman, Public Relations; and Bill Kroyer, Short Films and Feature Animation. Littman was elected to fill the seat originally held by Michael Apted, who stepped down early because work obligations will keep him out of the country all year. She will serve for two years, the remainder of Apted’s term.

Returning to the Board after a hiatus is Tom Hanks, representing the Actors Branch.

Incumbent governors returning to the board include Caleb Deschanel, Cinematographers Branch; Rob Epstein, Documentary; Tom Sherak, Executives; Mark Goldblatt, Film Editors; Bruce Broughton, Music; Mark Johnson, Producers; Kevin O’Connell, Sound; Bill Taylor, Visual Effects; and James L. Brooks, Writers.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board are Annette Bening and Henry Winkler, Actors Branch; Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeffrey Kurland, Art Directors; Owen Roizman and Vilmos Zsigmond, Cinematographers; Martha Coolidge and Curtis Hanson, Directors; Richard Pearce, Documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, Executives; Dede Allen and Donn Cambern, Film Editors; Leonard Engelman, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists; Charles Fox and Arthur Hamilton, Music; Kathleen Kennedy and Hawk Koch, Producers; Sid Ganis and Marvin Levy, Public Relations; Carl Bell and John Lasseter, Short Films and Feature Animation; Curt Behlmer and Don Hall, Sound; Craig Barron and Richard Edlund, Visual Effects; and Frank Pierson and Phil Robinson, Writers.


For more information, contact

Teni Melidonian
(310) 247-3090

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

More To Explore